Book Review: Bill Bryson’s At Home – A Short History of Private Life


Cover of "At Home: A Short History of Pri...

Cover via Amazon

I have never really been much interested in history. It was definitely not my favorite subject in school. I disliked memorizing all those dates and things. Medieval history was a little more interesting but still not something I would seek out to read.

If I had a teacher like author Bill Bryson, I know I would have loved (and would still love) history. In his long but fascinating book, At Home – A Short History of Private Life, the past comes alive while he explores the parson’s home where he lives in England.

He travels through the house giving a wonderful array of (useless?) trivia that I couldn’t get enough of. The history spans countries and generations and the rich and poor. There are details about furniture, servants, inventors, buildings, the upper class, gardens, the light bulb, windows and so much more I couldn’t even begin to list everything.

Trivia and history buffs will love this book. I look forward to reading more of Bill Bryson’s work.

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Bill Bryson’s At Home – A Short History of Private Life

    • Check this one out then. It’s long but so interesting you don’t really notice. It’s like reading Jeopardy!

  1. Thanks for your marvelous posting! I definitely enjoyed reading it, you might be a great author.I will always bookmark your blog and definitely will come back from now on. I want to encourage yourself to continue your great posts, have a nice evening!

Leave a Reply

