Book Review – Heaven is for Real: A Little Boy’s Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back by Todd, Sonja and Colton Burpo


Yes, I know it’s been quite awhile since I posted a review. Sorry.  I have been concentrating heavily on Smoky Mountain Leaf Works, my new craft business (see http://smleafworks.wordpress.com for more info).  This doesn’t mean I haven’t been reading. I just have focused my life in other areas and haven’t had time for reviewing.

I have been on the waiting list for the Kindle version of Heaven is for Real: A Little Boy’s Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back by Todd, Sonja & Colton Burpo for several weeks at my local library and it finally arrived. It took me less than three hours to read, both because it was not a long book and because I couldn’t stop reading it until I finished it.

Almost four-year-old Colton Burpo has a life-threatening illness. His pastor dad, Todd, and teacher mom, Sonja, are understandably distraught. Through what they believe is a miracle, Colton is healed. Life can get back to normal.

But, all is not really normal. Colton begins mentioning strange things that he has seen and experienced – in Heaven.  These things are not typical Bible stories and lessons that Colton has learned from his parents and from Sunday School. He describes places and people in Heaven from the Bible in ways he couldn’t possibly know unless he had actually been there.

Todd questions him gently but pointedly. Colton is adamant. Todd and Sonja believe their son visited Heaven when he was so near death. It has changed the way they interact with people and strengthened their faith.

I loved this book and it made a big impression on me. As so many people do, I have doubts and questions about God, Jesus and the Bible. Heaven is for Real has really made me think about my own faith.

All you doubting Thomas’s out there – read it. You’ll be glad you did.

2 thoughts on “Book Review – Heaven is for Real: A Little Boy’s Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back by Todd, Sonja and Colton Burpo

Leave a Reply

