Book Review: Love Works. by Joel Manby


I couldn’t wait to read Love Works. by Joel Manby as soon as I found out when it would be released. I deeply respect Joel as the CEO of Herschend Family Entertainment, the managing entity of the company where I work, and was excited to hear what he had to say about leadership.

In Love Works., Joel outlines the seven principles for “leading with love.” In recounting his own experiences and relationships with others, Joel states that it is important to “treat someone with love regardless of how you feel about that person.” This is agape love.

Based on the Bible passage from I Corinthians 13:4-7, love is:

~ patient – having self-control in difficult situations

~ kind – showing encouragement and enthusiasm

~ trusting – placing confidence in others

~ unselfish – thinking of one’s self less

~ truthful – defining reality at work and individually

~ forgiving – releasing the grip of the grudge

~ dedicated – sticking to one’s values in all circumstances

Each of the seven principles is explored in depth, with real-life examples.

I really enjoyed this book. Although I am not currently a “leader” at my workplace, I think these principles can be embraced by all to help make us better human beings. I highly recommend Love Works. for a little inspiration in life and for leaders everywhere.

One thought on “Book Review: Love Works. by Joel Manby

Leave a Reply

