Book Review: Gone by Lisa Gardner


I know I’ve been on quite a Koontz kick (I like the sound of that) for awhile so I’m taking a (brief) breather. Gasp!

I’ve read some books by Lisa Gardner before and have forgotten how much I enjoyed them. I picked up Lisa Gardner’s Gone for a whopping $.90 at my favorite used bookstore in Knoxville, TN – McKays. It took me all of one day to read the suspenseful thriller.

Rainie Connor is missing. Her white Camry is abandoned on the side of the road, in the pouring rain with the engine running, the windshield wipers swishing and the driver’s door wide open. Her purse is on the seat. As if that’s not bad enough, her husband is ex-FBI profiler and current private consultant to law enforcement Pierce Quincy. And, they’ve been separated for about a week.

To make matters even worse, someone else is missing – seven-year-old Dougie Jones, a foster child gone wrong and expert fire-starter. Ransom is demanded of Pierce and officials are scrambling against the clock.

The action switches back and forth between what’s going on with Pierce and then what is going on with Rainie and Dougie. It’s easy to follow and builds more suspense. The book is an exciting read.

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Gone by Lisa Gardner

Leave a comment